The Old Giant

Home » 15mm scale models » Flames of War – Early War French Tank Squadron – FiB Somua S-35

Flames of War – Early War French Tank Squadron – FiB Somua S-35

The Old Giant

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 51 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 188,058 hits

I have been so busy for a couple of weeks I haven’t had time to actually blog about the projects I am working on.

That means there is a bit of a backlog about to hit this site!

 

I spent several hours over a weekend building and painting the eight Forged in Battle resin and metal French Somua S35 tanks I got for my birthday. Here are the results from gluing to painting to decals.

The tanks were undercoated with Halfords white primer spray (I really recommend this for undercoating any models, its consistency and application are fantastic).

The paints used were from the Vallejo Game Color range: Metallic for the tracks, Bestial brown, Khaki and Cayman Green for the camouflage and a light drybrush of Khaki for the edges to give more definition. the base was painted with Terra.

Army Painter Dark Tone dip was used as a sealant and to shade the tanks. The grass is Javis spring mix static grass. Once dry I used Army Painter anti-shine Matt spray varnish to take off the gloss effect of the dip.

After that, I used a set of decals (QRF French Roundels) the smallest on the sheets I bought). Two per tank, using images on the internet as a guide for where to place them. I didn’t think it made sense to paint a target on the frontal armour so went with side options for decals!

A few things I noticed: the tanks chassis are made of resin, one of the exhausts had broken off by the time I received it, just at the point where it goes over the back of the tank. With no “netting roll” or whatever it is on the back of one of the models to protect it, the resin had just broken off. A small pice has also come away from the front of another tank since painting. And they haven’t been used in battle yet!

The decals were pretty straightforward, but you really need to get them on a flat surface. Even with a softener, it looks better if they are on a flat surface. A Couple of them don’t seem to sit well on the right side panel. Will have to see if they come off. I did go back and matt varnish over them to help with adhesion!

In close-up I can see a few stray brush hairs and static grass pieces on the tanks, probably stuck to the varnish at some point. Will have to try to check more carefully next time!  One tank has a wonky gun barrel that needs straightening – these guns are a bit flimsy and need removing with care from their castings. One of the eight barrels had also been cast without the end of the barrel and had made it through quality control. I just went with it, but I should really have asked for this and the tank with broken exhaust to be replaced. When you consider these are hand packed into foam you shouldn’t really be getting chipped features or deformed parts. Maybe the resin isn’t as tough as the stuff Battlefront uses? To be fair, I have had a share of issues with Battlefront models but they have always been replaced when going through their customer support. It pays to ask, so don’t put up with problems.

Here they are…

FoW 15mm Somua EW (30) FoW 15mm Somua EW (35)

FoW 15mm Somua EW (28) FoW 15mm Somua EW (31)

FoW 15mm Somua EW (7) FoW 15mm Somua EW (8)

2 Comments

  1. crafting says:

    My brother recommended I might like this website.
    He was totally right. This post truly made my day.
    You can not imagine simply how much time I had
    spent for this info! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

